Stand and Represent

The other day I answered a survey about DVDs.  When questions came up regarding as to which genres I was buying I noticed something I felt was interesting.  For the Horror genre, they had chosen what might be an obvious choice, but at the same time made me wonder, is this really the best representative for the genre currently.  Their choice of representative for horror was the movie Saw.  I have to admit I haven’t seen this movie yet myself.  As such I cannot judge whether this is an excellent choice or a poor choice or anywhere in between.

So I ask now, is Saw the best foot forward?  The survey is just naming a movie that I as a buyer in the genre am likely to have heard of, but what went into their decision to use it as the sole example?  I have to wonder, given that the first Saw film is not that new, why not say The Texas Chainsaw Massacre as an example?  Either the remake or the original could be held up as an example of which people have heard.  The remake spawned its own sequel, which in context says great things about it, given the number of sequels out there from the original.  What movie would you pick to be representative of the genre, and at the same time be popular enough for practically any moviegoer/watcher to have heard of it?

 
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

