Interview with S.S. Michaels

Last week I brought you my review of S.S. Michaels’ first novel, Idols and Cons. If you missed it, do yourself a favour and check back for it. Today I have another post that you will find exciting. I knew when I was asked to review the book that I certainly would, and if at all possible I would follow it up with something a little more intimate. That said, I present the interview…

RGM: Tell everybody a bit about yourself, please.

SSM: I am a recovering accountant and Hollywood drone hoping to become the next Chuck Palahniuk.

RGM: Do you do a lot of pre-planning for your writing or do you just jump right in and sort the details out as they show up?

SSM: I do waaaay more research than I need to. Then, I make meticulous outlines and plot charts. And then, I throw all that away and write the story.

RGM: Why did you choose to use multiple first person perspectives in Idols & Cons? Were there other styles you considered?

SSM: I chose multiple first person because I wanted the reader to be able to get inside everyone’s head, to know what they were (or were not) thinking. I did consider a boring third person omniscient, but that just didn’t work for me.

RGM: What do you consider the most important element in a story? (Character, setting, mood, etc?)

SSM: I think you’ve got to have a story. Having great characters is a close second, but if they don’t have anything to do, then what?

RGM: How does it feel to have your first novel published?

SSM: It feels great! It’s even better than an Adventure Time marathon!

RGM: Do you have your second novel in mind already?

SSM: I have three novels completed, actually. You’ve only seen the first one so far. The second, REVIVAL HOUSE, will be out sometime early next year. It’s a quirky horror story, of course.

RGM: Do you have a lot of stories just bouncing around waiting to be pulled out of your thoughts?

SSM: I have stories about all the stories I’ve got dancing around in the caverns of my head.

RGM: What is it like to have a great quote for your novel from Jeremy C. Shipp? Jeremy gets a lot of great accolades himself from big names, and you certainly deserved yours.

SSM: Jeremy is a great writer – one of my new favorites – so I was, of course, over the moon to get such high praise from him. It really means a lot to me and I’m very thankful.

RGM: Have you done many interviews yet? I expect there will be a lot sooner than later.

SSM: I have done several so far.

RGM: What question would you like an interviewer to ask you, that they otherwise might not ask? What’s the answer to that question?

SSM: Where do I get my ideas. The answer: everywhere.

RGM: Thank you for answering my questions. I hope this is the start of a long and distinguished career.

SSM: Thank you, Robert!

You can pick up your own copy of Idols & Cons at Amazon.com.

Music: Let’s Get Rocked by Def Leppard.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

